FujiFilm finepix – Knitted Camera Case Free Pattern

Standard

Knit your own case

FUJIFILM FINEPIX Case

A cute little case for your Fuji camera. This only takes a couple hours at the most, including sewing on some decoration and adding the snap fasteners.

The stitches you need to know are casting on, knit, purl and casting off. If you don’t know how to do any of these stitches I advise you to search for a video tutorial. YouTube is usually a good source for this.

This is an ideal gift because you can use left over yarns and spare sequins and beads from other projects to decorate.

Here is how I did it.

Using 4mm Needles and DK yarn.

C/o 14 Sts
Knit 4 rows

(Double Moss St – Pattern)
Row 5= K2, *p2, k2; repeat from * to end
Row 6= P2, *k2, p2; repeat from * to end
Row 7= K2, *p2, k2; repeat from * to end
Row 8= P2, *k2, p2; repeat from * to end

The last 4 rows for the pattern. Repeat this pattern 6 more times.

Row33= K2, *p2, k2; repeat from * to end
Row34= P2, *k2, p2; repeat from * to end

Row35= Work 5 rows of Stocking stitch.

(Back)
Row36-64= Repeat rows 5-33

(closure)
Row 65=Knit
Row 66= Purl
Row 67= Knit first 5 sts, cast off 4 sts, knit 5 sts
Row 68=  Purl 5 sts, place rest of sts on stitch holder
Row 69= Knit
Row 70=Knit
Row 71= Purl
Row 72= K1, K2tg, K2
Row 73= P2tg, p2tg
Row 74= K2tg
Tie off and thread yarn tail through work securely.

Rejoin thread to stitches on the holder and repeat rows 69-74. Cut off yarn leaving enough to sew up.

Sew up both sides tightly with right sides facing each other. Turn out.

Sew on your press studs using picture as a guide.  Add any embellishments or embroidery you like. I used sequins and beads from a repairs bag from a dress I bought.

Try different colours and patterns for the main body. Don’t worry if it seems a tad small when your knitting. It will grow wider as you go and will fit snug over this type of camera. Please leave me a comment if you try this!

Back View

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Home Crafts Blog

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Thanks for the Fugifilm camera case pattern. I made it today for my new Fugifilm camera and it came out great. I just want to mention that in your pattern, rows 5-8 make a rib pattern. If you want to make the double moss pattern rows 5 and 6 need to be the same(k2,p2) and rows 7 and 8 need to be the same (P2, K2). I also picked up 9 stitches near the bottom of the back and knitted several rows to make a pocket for an extra battery. I crocheted a loop at the top of the pocket and fastened it to a button.

Leave a Reply

